County Departments

Find information about the  departments of Crawford County, Georgia.

View current employment opportunities for Crawford County. 

View and/or download agendas and minutes for Crawford County

Learn more about Crawford County Commissioners.

Recent News

Quick Links


Crawford County was created in 1822 from part of Houston County and was named in honor of U.S. Senator and Secretary of the Treasury William H. Crawford. In 1823, the Georgia State Legislature designated Knoxville as the county seat, and a courthouse square was laid out. The legislation made “permanent the site of the public buildings at the village of Knoxville. Knoxville was named for Revolutionary War General Henry Knox (1750-1806), who, in 1789, became the first U.S. Secretary of War. When Knoxville was incorporated in 1825, the law stipulated “that the town shall comprehend within its limits, all persons residing within the boundary of the square, or lot of land, upon which the public buildings of the county are situated: and that no person be elected a commissioner, or an officer of said town, who shall not reside within those limits.”

Upcoming Meetings and Events

No event found!
Load More
Close Search Window